The Library is Closed

I have a personal policy that if a patron has overdue materials, and this is their first time being overdue, and they have the materials with them to check in, that I’m going to just override the checkin so that they do not get fines that first time.  I call it a kharma deposit.  But I do not do this if you lie to me; because lying negates the necessity of a kharma deposit, since I’m not helping out a person who was mistaken; I would be helping out a liar. 

The trouble is, that you cannot always figure out who’s the liar . . . until it’s too late.

Me:     OK, I have provided you with a courtesy override of your fines today.  Next time, please be sure to call us so we can renew your items so you can avoid late fees.

Patron:     I did call, but you were closed.

Me:     Sir, your items were due one month ago.

Patron:      I know, but you were closed.

For a whole month, we were closed.  Wish I had known that, I would have enjoyed the vacation . . .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Library is Closed

  1. Di says:

    Sure we were, you don’t remember that nice long vacation?

  2. e1aine says:

    Darn, was it a public holiday? I could’ve had the month off too!

Leave a Reply

